Kingdoms History

Read about the history of the kingdoms here


The Kambojas were a warrior tribe. Drupada wanted them to fight on his side against the Kauravas. But they were allied with Jayadratha and fought with the Kauravas against the Pandavas.


After a long meditation on Shiva at Kailash mountain, the demon Khara received three lingas from him, which he should worship equally. He took two of them in each hand, and hung the third around his neck.

On the way home to Kerala he got tired and lay down to rest. The two lingas in his hands are the Vaikom Shiva temple and the Ettumanur Shiva temple. The linga that he wore around his neck is the Kaduthuruthi Shiva temple.

Since the distance of the neck to the hands is the same, the distance of the three temples is also the same.


Mythological beings with human torso and animal head.


Mindborn son of Brahma, father of the Valakhilyas.


Son of king Chitraketu.


Sanskrit for mount Kailash.

Kashyapa and Aditi

Diti asked for a son who was mor powerful than Indra.

Aditi, Indra’s mother, warned her son. Indra entered the body of Diti and divided the child into seven parts. It screamed, Diti awakened and cursed Indra, that he would never be able to live in peace. Indra revealed that his mother instigated him. Diti curses her to one day end up in prison and lose her seven children.

Aditi lost seven children in prison in her next life as Devaki. Six were the Sadagarbha whom Vasudeva killed at the behest of Kamsa. The seventh was taken from her, not killed. It was brought into Rohini’s womb and born as Balarama, Krishna’s brother. The eighth child was Krishna.

Diti’s curse on Indra meant that he was always worried about his throne. Kashyapa and Aditi asked Vishnu to be born their son. They were born again as Dasaratha and Kausalya, and Vishnu incarnated as their son Rama. Next they were born as Vasudeva and Devaki, Vishnu incarnated as their son Krishna.

For a modified version see Prisnigarbha.

Karma Khanda

Each Veda consists of three parts

Karma Khanda deals with rites. Karma – the outward worship through action.
Upasana Khanda is about worship and meditation. Upasana – inner worship.
Jnana Khanda discusses supreme knowledge of the self. Jnana – wisdom.


The parts of the Ramayana

Bala Kanda – The book of the youth
Ayodhya Kanda – The book of  Ayodhya
Aranya Kanda – The book of the forest
Kishkinda Kanda – The book of the monkey kingdom
Sundara Kanda – The book of the beauty
Yuddha Kanda – The book of the battle
Uttara Kanda –  The book of the epilogue (not by Valmiki, later addition)