The three ritual fires (Agni) in the Vedic sacrifice.

Garhapatya – Ahavaniya – Dakshinagni

Garhapatya is Agni as the ‚lord of the house‘. The Garhapatya fire is the house fire kindled from Arani sticks, the purest fire.

The Garhapatya fire is carried to the sacrificial site in the east, where the priest lights the Ahavaniya fire, the sacrificial fire.

Dakshinagni is set on fire in the south from Garhapatya to ward off the dark forces.

The three agnis are equated with the creative, the sustaining and the dissolving principle

Ahavaniya – Brahma
Garhapatya – Vishnu
Dakshinagni – Shiva