Ashvattha Tree

The scriptures talk about five trees, they are the same tree, a fig tree, which botany only distinguishes as two species.
Ashvattha, Pipal, Bodhi – Ficus religiosa.
Nyagrodha, Banyan – Ficus benghalensis.

Krishna says in Bhagavad Gita X.26 and XV1:
‚Among the trees I am the Ashvattha Tree.‘
‚The eternal Ashvattha tree has its roots above and branches below. Its leaves are the Vedic hymns. One who knows the secret of this tree is the knower of the Veda.

‚Nyag‘ means ‚downward‘ – the downward growing mystical World Tree.

‚Bodhi‘ ist he awakening, the enlightenment – Buddha reached enlightenment under a Bodhi Tree.

Pipal und Banyan – vernacular.